• Slider Image

Contact Your County Board Chair!
County boards have a lot of power, and can regulate CO2 pipelines. But Navigator has been telling them that there is nothing they can do. That is incorrect, and delays counties from taking action that can protect their residents!

County boards can:

  • Create a local emergency response plan that protects its residents by coordinating with first responders and health care providers.
  • Adopt a moratorium to allow time to prepare a  zoning ordinance that address impacts from CO2 pipelines. This can regulate emergency planning; setbacks; mitigation of impacts to farmland from construction; and more.
  • Adopt a resolution opposing the pipeline that urges the Illinois Commerce Commission to withhold issuing a permit until the Pipeline Hazardous Material and Safety Administration complete's its rule-making process to improve safety and oversight of CO2 pipelines.
  • Update the county's utility permit application to require emergency response, repair (or replacement) of damaged roads, review of site selection to determine suitability for hazardous CO2 Pipeline crossings; monitoring of those crossings; and more.
  • Intervene with the Illinois Commerce Commission.  This is the place to stop the pipeline.  It is the ONLY way to get concerns entered into the official record, which the ICC will use in its decision to approve - or deny - Navigator's permit.

We're building customized petitions you can use to contact your county board chair and vice-chair.  If you don't see your county linked to the petition, it soon will be!

Send a Letter
Click your county link to get access to the petition.  Simply fill out your contact information, review  and personalize the letter, and click send.  It will be sent automatically to your county board chair and vice-chair, and you will receive a notice that it has been sent. Please take time to personalize your letter, since it will have more impact.

Adams County
Brown County
Christian County
Fulton County
Hancock County
Henry County
Knox County
McDonough County
Morgan County
Pike County
Sangamon County
Schuyler County
Scott County